In the May 2010 general election, no party was able to form a majority government. Both the Conservative and Labour parties needed the support of the Liberal Democrats to form a government that could function as a majority government in the Commons. After a degree of horse-trading with regards to what would be offered for the support of the Liberal Democrats, a Conservative-Liberal Democrat coalition government was formed and Cameron had to create his first ever Cabinet. By the very nature of a coalition, the Cabinet contained a number of Liberal Democrat MP’s; the party leader, Nick Clegg, was made Deputy Prime Minister.


Prime Minister: David Cameron


Deputy Prime Minister: Nick Clegg*


Foreign Secretary: William Hague


Chancellor of the Exchequer: George Osbourne


Home Secretary: Theresa May


Defence Secretary: Liam Fox


Chief Secretary to the Treasury: Danny Alexander*


Health Secretary: Andrew Lansley


Education and Children Secretary: Michael Gove


Justice Secretary: Ken Clarke


Business Secretary: Vince Cable*


Works and Pensions Secretary: Ian Duncan-Smith


Energy and Climate Secretary: Chris Huhme*


Local Government and Communities Secretary: Eric Pickles


Transport Secretary: Philip Hammond


Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Secretary: Caroline Spelman


International Development Secretary: Andrew Mitchell


Culture, Sport and Olympics Secretary: Jeremy Hunt


Welsh Secretary: Cheryl Gillan


Northern Ireland Secretary: Owen Patterson


Chair of the Cabinet: Lady Warsi


Leader of the Lords: Lord Strathclyde


The following attend Cabinet meetings on a basis of when they are needed:


Paymaster General and Head of the Cabinet Office: Francis Maude


Minister of State, Cabinet Office: Oliver Letwin


Minister of State Universities and Science: David Willetts


Chief Whip and Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasury: Patrick McLoughlin


Attorney General: Dominic Grieve


Leader of the Commons and Lord Privy Seal: Sir George Young


* = Liberal Democrat.