Woodrow Wilson’s Fourteen Points

Woodrow Wilson’s Fourteen Points were first outlined in a speech Wilson gave to the American Woodrow-Wilson-Fourteen-PointsCongress in January 1918. Wilson’s Fourteen Points became the basis for a peace programme and it was on the back of the Fourteen Points that Germany and her allies agreed to an armistice in November 1918.

  1. No more secret agreements (“Open covenants openly arrived at”).
  2. Free navigation of all seas.
  3. An end to all economic barriers between countries.
  4. Countries to reduce weapon numbers.
  5. All decisions regarding the colonies should be impartial
  6. The German Army is to be removed from Russia. Russia should be left to develop
    her own political set-up.
  7. Belgium should be independent like before the war.
  8. France should be fully liberated and allowed to recover Alsace-Lorraine
  9. All Italians are to be allowed to live in Italy. Italy’s borders are to be “along
    clearly recognisable lines of nationality.”
  10. Self-determination should be allowed for all those living in Austria-Hungary.
  11. Self-determination and guarantees of independence should be allowed for
    the Balkan states.
  12. The Turkish people should be governed by the Turkish government. Non-Turks in
    the old Turkish Empire should govern themselves.
  13. An independent Poland should be created which should have access to the sea.
  14. A League of Nations should be set up to guarantee the political and territorial
    independence of all states.